WMA Masters Athlete of the Year Award Winners

Each year the World Masters Athletics Association invites each region to nominate a male and female athlete of the year. Strict criteria apply including that the nominees must have competed in a WMA Championship during the time frame. Athletes need to have achieved at least one gold medal and to have performed to a very high standard. The WMA Council then decide on the best male and female athletes.

In our Oceania Region as there have been a number of outstanding athletes worthy of such nomination. It’s indicative of general performance standards here that athletes from our region have been winners.

Past winners of the IAAF Masters Athlete of the Year Awards from Oceania have been:

2004 Jeanette Flynn (W50) Qld Middle distance sprints

2007 Andrew Jamieson (M60) Vic Walks

2010 Marie Kay (W50) Qld Pentathlon
2010 Peter Crombie (W65) NSW Sprints

2011 Lyn Ventris (W50) WA Walks
2011 Ron Robertson (M70) NZL Middle Distance

2012 Lyn Ventris (W50-55) WA Walks

2014 Lavinia Petrie (W70) Long Distance

2016 Andrew Jamieson (M70) Vic Walks